Picture
    As my past couple posts have dealt with serious issues in Pohnpei I want to write about how I have started to love this place and the people here.  There have been several moments throughout my time so far when it has hit me how blessed I am to be here and how glad I am that the majority of my time is not spent sitting inside a cubicle.  While I am volunteering my time and services I have found that I am being compensated in far better ways than dollars and cents.   

    One of the major perks of working here in Pohnpei is the natural beauty everywhere.  Without rubbing it in to those wearing jackets and soon sweaters, I’m living in a screensaver.  I realized that at night outside my window sounds exactly like the jungle sounds you would buy on a CD.  I have been able to enjoy much of what the island offers to outdoorsmen.  Already I have been fishing twice and look forward to catching a fish taller than me.  This weekend I jumped off my first waterfall (see video below!).  I’m looking forward to jumping off the next one, which is twice as tall!  In the coming months I will be camping on outer islands, likely go sailing, learn to surf, go scuba diving and snorkeling in pristine waters, and hike to the highest point in Pohnpei, Sokeh’s Ridge.  Also, as a World War II history buff, I had a real treat this weekend.  A local guy completely restored an old Japanese tank and gave us a complete tour.  I’m told that if we become friends he’ll give me a ride around his local compound.  We’ll have to be careful how far we go though – the US Embassy is across the street!  Later in the day John took us up a mountain to see some huge Japanese anti-aircraft guns.   

    All in all, there has been much to enjoy on the weekends and after work.  Despite all this fun, the best part of being here has been the people.  The entire MAHI team has been so welcoming and kind.  I feel blessed to be part of a group that is so committed to doing God’s work.  The locals have also been very welcoming.  If you wave at the toughest, meanest looking guy on the island, he will wave back, and most likely with a big smile.  Now trying doing that anywhere in America!  You would probably get a hand gesture with a significantly different meaning.  In every conversation and interaction, they speak very softly, not with the volume of their voice but with kindness and inflection.  I have found that this rubs off on the non-locals, including myself.  Even though people have struggles just like anyone anywhere else in the world, my experience so far has shown that the locals don’t get too frantic.  Indeed, while the lack of urgency to many of their problems can be detrimental, it certainly is a nice change of pace from the world of 24 hour news networks, blowing up everything out of proportion in search of the almighty dollar. 

    I’m sure throughout my time here there will be plenty of other things that will make me grateful for the opportunity to have this experience.  I wanted to write this post though to make known that while there is much reform needed here in Pohnpei and throughout Micronesia that this is a beautiful place with wonderful people.

Click here to see pictures of the weekend!





Leave a Reply.