Picture
Shot from Sokehs Ridge of liftoff at Pohnpei International Airport
    Quick disclaimer: this post is going to involve a fair amount of cheese, so you might want to go get some wine and crackers.  Bad joke, my apologies.  Anyways --- I can’t believe it, but the day is finally here for me to say goodbye to these islands, at least for now.  The past few weeks I have been asked often how I feel about leaving.  The best and only word to describe it is bittersweet.  While I am very excited to see family and friends, and I’m not exactly dreading taking my first hot shower in eight months or watching the Yankees, there are so many things that I am going to miss about Pohnpei.


For starters, look at my backyard:

    How do you beat that?  I truly have been aesthetically spoiled here.  Every day I get to see postcard views – a privilege I have tried not to take for granted.  More than just the images associated with an “island paradise,” I’m going to miss the work I have been doing here.  Despite the challenges, (if you have read a word of my blog you know what I’m referring to) it has been extraordinarily rewarding work.  Working every day alongside others with a shared purpose has been truly awesome, in every sense of the word.  Quick side note: our iPad grant has become official – so a major Pohnpeian “Kalanghan” (Thank You) to AUSTRALIA!!!  Thanks to the folks down under, MAHI International has received a grant for a little over $20,000 to purchase 40 iPads and rugged carrying cases!

    I’m also going to miss the slower pace here and the more relaxed approach to life.  While there are some negatives to “island time,” it has been gratifying to escape the high-stress world that spawned the 24/7 news cycle.  You would be amazed how simple life can be, and how much easier it is to connect with yourself and others, when you aren’t constantly distracted by the bells and whistles of modern America. 

    As I mentioned in my last post, I am going to miss the incredible randomness of Pohnpei.  Every day is an adventure where I might witness something I have never seen before.  Pohnpei comes with many surprises, both good and bad.  It wasn’t always fun when the power went out for hours, but where else in the world can you see a four-door sedan raking a softball field?  I think American culture has indoctrinated most people to love routine – no one likes change of any sort.  Just think of how the general public reacts when a road is shut down for construction or if the Facebook format is altered.  People flip.  I have learned here more patience than I thought was humanly possible and with that the mentality to just roll with the punches.  There are gems in the unexpected, not just headaches.

    More than anything though, by a long shot, what I am going to miss most about Pohnpei is the people.  The friendships and mentors I have gained here have truly been life-changing.  I can’t put into words how blessed I feel to have had the opportunity to work alongside with people like John, Mr. B and many others.  This island will forever be linked with these people and for that Pohnpei will always have a special place in my heart.

    I have no idea who reads this blog, but I’ve accumulated a sizable following somehow.  While I don’t know who you are, I want to take a moment and encourage anyone reading this to take the opportunity to get out and serve.  And if at all possible, get out of your comfort zone.  I of course would recommend MAHI International as a great organization to volunteer for.  Currently we are looking for more English instructors to expand our program next year!  This has been one of the most challenging, but also one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.  Whether you can make it out to Pohnpei or not, get off the couch and go do something.  I guarantee you won’t regret it.

    This experience has been an adventure.  It really is difficult to put everything into perspective at the moment.  I’m sure though that I will look back at my time in Micronesia with fond memories, recalling the joys, the trials, everything I learned, our successful program, and most importantly the people that made this tiny island in the Pacific my second home.

So Pohnpei, Kalanghan and Senek Pwurodo!  (Till I see you again!)

Drew

P.S. Despite my leaving Pohnpei, I still plan to keep this blog going for at least another month or so.  In my reading of different long-term volunteer abroad blogs before I came to Pohnpei, I couldn’t find one that talked about reverse culture shock and re-adapting to one’s former world.  I also have learned from past trips and experiences that most of the time you learn the most from a trip or experience not during that period of time, but after.  I look forward to learning more and sharing what I have learned in the weeks ahead once I am back in part of the world that most people actually knows exists!  Also, I have been asked many times, “What’s next?”  I have an answer and I’ll leave that to a future post.
For those of you who STILL need reminding of where the heck Pohnpei is, check out this map of my flight home.  The island hopper plane will be making stops in Kwajalein and Majuro before crossing the International Dateline heading to Honolulu.  After a few hour layover it's to San Francisco, before finally the last leg across the country to the best state in the union, New Jersey (stop laughing).  In total, I will be traveling 8233 miles in 24 hours.
Picture
One last waterfall jump (for now!)
Picture
My last day on Pohnpei was a wet one! The series of events went like this out on the ocean: dry heave, vomit, pull a fish, vomit, pull a fish, repeat! I usually don't get seasick but it was worth it! Here's me with a couple of good sized Yellowfin Tuna.
9/19/2012 12:07:37 am

Nice post. Here you provide some valuable points about company it's really nice. I like your post. Thank you for sharing................

Reply



Leave a Reply.