Picture
Completed solar panel unit on Pakin Atoll
__     This time last year I was graduating from college, reflecting on how much I had learned and grown over the previous four years.  I was still hearing people say “Microwhat? when introducing my plans for the future, but I was excited for my next adventure.  A long summer later and I was in Pohnpei.  It hasn’t really sunk in yet, but I only have a little over a week left in Pohnpei.  While reality will soon smack me in the face, I have been reflecting again on how much I have learned and grown over the past year.  In the midst of this reflection, I realized that in a way, I’m “graduating” from Pohnpei.  Let me explain.

    When I first talked to John, the Executive Director of MAHI International, about volunteering in Pohnpei, I was first introduced to the solar project on Pakin Atoll, an outer island approximately 30 miles from Pohnpei.  I researched grants and started fundraising for the project, excited at the prospect of transforming the life of the residents of Pakin, who have never lived with power on their island.  While things changed and I shifted my focus to education here on Pohnpei, I was always excited at the prospect of contributing to this project in any way I could.  I’m happy to report this past week we installed 16 solar panel units on the school roof in Pakin!  This power will be used primarily for an ice machine and freezer which will revolutionize the economy of the island as the main source of income is fishing.  There is a lot of extra power as well which is exciting as it might lead to future projects such as a computer lab for the school.

    On Pakin I also had the chance to help with health screenings of the islanders, assisting Ben, a doctor who is volunteering for MAHI International.  There are about 60 people living on Pakin, a number which inflates during the summer months when high school students return from Pohnpei.  We screened 40 adults and were able to educate them about many health issues about everything from quitting smoking to diabetes.  Life on Pakin is a different world.  One thing is for sure, most of my city friends wouldn’t be too comfortable.  There are more pigs than people, no running water, and if you want to eat dinner it’s a plate of rice unless you get in the ocean and catch a fish.  Many people see pictures of places this and wish they could live on a beautiful island paradise.  While it is absolutely gorgeous many overlook how tough island life actually is.  I have a tremendous amount of respect for these people on the outer islands and their incredible toughness.

    Once we got back from Pakin it was back to the grind.  I was really excited for Friday morning when we had a meeting with an embassy here regarding a certain grant application.  Back in December I wrote a grant to receive 16 iPads for our education program.  We heard very positive feedback from this embassy after a long delay and re-writing the grant for 40 iPads, with the assistance of Ap, the Peace Corps volunteer on Pakin.  We were a little worried however when they asked to meet regarding our application.  We were able to get our hands on an iPad on island and showed them an application we plan to use and answered all their concerns.  The grant was re-submitted with the very minor additions and the grant is all but set in stone (as it isn’t set in stone, I have not mentioned the embassy – once it is I will heap praise on their awesome nation!).

    When John, Ap, and I walked out of the meeting, it was then I started thinking about how I’m “graduating” from Pohnpei.  We have worked tirelessly to receive these iPads and it’s becoming a reality!  Any college student, past or present, can recall the intense satisfaction one feels after submitting all their work or finishing that last exam to finish a school year.  I felt a similar feeling when we realized the iPads are actually coming – a long period (over a semester long this time!) of work, dedication, and persistence culminating in a moment of where we could revel in our achievement.  These iPads aren’t the final answer – there is no silver bullet – but this tool will be an incredible addition to our education program.

    Speaking of graduation, this is our last week in the schools.  While I’m sad to leave our students I’m very pleased with the progress made this year, especially amidst our limited resources.  As I reflect on all that MAHI International has accomplished during my time here, I will be very proud of the solar project on Pakin and our acquisition of the iPads, but I will be most proud of our student’s increased English proficiency.  I’ll let the graphs below speak for themselves.

    In the fun department throughout this past week, my roommate Ian and I were able to snorkel on the reef next to Pakin.  No picture or video could capture the beauty of this place.  You snorkel in water about five feet deep along the reef, then boom! – a drop down into the ocean so far you can’t see the bottom.  The blue is the most vivid color I have ever seen and there are fish with the most vibrant and striking colors swimming everywhere.  I felt like I was in an aquarium.  I know what most mothers, including my own, are thinking at this point – where are the sharks?!?  Yes, we stumbled across some.  When there was just one shark, maybe four feet or so long, it caught our attention but we were more interested in observing it than feeling any sense of fear.  When there was two of them we backed off a little bit, but continued about our merry snorkeling way.  When the third shark showed up, this time maybe five feet, we stopped moving around and decided to stop diving down for the time being.  Only a little bit later when the fourth and decidedly biggest shark arrived it was time to take a break and hang out on the reef!  I might be willing to take some risks by entering shark infested waters, but I’m not crazy!

    This past weekend I was also able to visit Kepirohi Waterfall, which is likely the most breathtaking waterfall I’ve seen on Pohnpei just from the sheer size of it (pictures and video below!).  While you can’t jump off it due to the lack of depth at the bottom, there is a place you can sit underneath the falls.  It was incredibly loud but really fun to be on the other side of the tumbling water.  It was also especially beautiful thanks to the 6.5” of rain we received in one day (5/18) a couple days prior.

    Just FYI – my next post I have been working on since the day I arrived on Pohnpei.  You won’t want to miss it!

Picture
Locals helping install solar panels on Pakin Atoll
Picture
Pakin man with an epic beard looking out over the lagoon
Picture
Hello there, friend
Picture
Picturesque Kepirohi (pronounced Kep-roy) Waterfall
Picture
Can you see me under there?
8/31/2012 04:07:12 pm

I enjoyed reading your blog post. You give more satisfaction to your followers. I'll check more often for new updates. thanks much :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
9/19/2012 12:07:23 am

Nice post. I read total Post. It’s really nice. Thank you for sharing.........

Reply
10/23/2012 12:24:20 pm

I am really impressed from this post! The person who created this post is a generous and knows how to keep the readers connected. Thanks for sharing this with us, i found it informative and interesting. Looking forward for more updates.

<a href="http://www.guyfix.com">progtech</a>
www.guyfix.com

Reply



Leave a Reply.